top of page

When do I enter yes for the CDL?


As one of the Utah DOT physicals locations I get asked a lot of different questions. One frequent question I get askes is when to mark Yes on the Medical card for the CDL question. A lot of people come in with a class D license and are getting ready to take the CDL test and want the card to yes for the CDL. The federal motor carrier safety administration addressed this question specifically. They said "Enter yes for CDL if the driver is a holder or applicant for a commercial driver's license (CDL) or a commercial learner's permit (CLP)".

As a certified medical examiner in Ogden Utah this was new for me. I assumed that you only mark yes if they have a CDL or CLP. Now that I know this all drivers that are applicants for the CDL will get a yes marked on their medical card.



bottom of page